Full circle

Anyone remember this picture?

That was from June of 2010, but we’re back here again. We’re not in the exact same room, but we’re in the same room in the very next building over. Other than the tuft on her head left over from our Charlottesville groomer, Sadie struck that very pose yesterday morning.

Now we are officially in limbo–just waiting to leave. We went to Germany, to the region where we’ll be based, to house hunt at the beginning of May. I’ll admit that I’m feeling more than ready to go from this:

to this:

And from this:

to this:

The nearly completed kitchen of the house we’ll be renting…

We moved into the temporary lodging facility (TLF–as if we don’t need another acronym here in alphabet soup land) on May 21st when our household goods got packed into their crates and shipped off. We’ll be here until we board the plane on June 30th. So… I am in waiting mode multiplied by 1,000, and I know that more waiting will be in store for us once we arrive. We’ll be facing two more weeks in a hotel in addition to sorting out cars and driver’s licenses, getting into our house, etc. It will be a long time before I will have a schedule again, and that knowledge is making me pretty edgy. (In all honesty, it has been over two years since I have had the kind of schedule that I am used to, so I’m really just extra edgy these days.)

Germany is a lovely place and the travel opportunities will be too good to pass up, but I won’t be telling the truth unless I say that I still wish that we were moving to Washington D.C. I’m not pining for Chick-fil-a or Target (though, authentic Mexican food and a margarita sound fabulous right now) or other such things that come up frequently in conversation around here. I just want to go somewhere that would allow me to hit the ground running. I have spent two years essentially twiddling my thumbs, and it’s no longer cute. (It never was.) Overseas military moves are like trying to suck molasses through a straw. There’s so much gunk that needs to flow, but it simply takes its own sweet time. If we were heading back to the States we would, in many ways, be returning to the civilian world, and I’d be able to jump right in and get things flowing from that end. I’d have many more (decent) job opportunities, more friend opportunities (as well as the ability to reconnect with existing dear friends), and more artistic opportunities, and I’d be able to make much better use of our limited time in each assignment by being able to bypass some of the bureaucracy. In Germany, well, we’ll see. And lest you think I’m Debbie Downer, I’m sure we’ll have plenty of once-in-a-lifetime weekend excursions. It’s just those pesky weekdays that have me a little concerned…

2 thoughts on “Full circle

  1. Think positive! Germany has so many more travel, work and play opportunities. I think you will be a lot happier there. Being nervous and homesick is understandable. After you meet a few people and learn a little German, you’ll take the “bull by the horns” and show everyone how lucky they are to have such a good yoga, dance and music teacher around. “Don’t worry, be happy…” ๐Ÿ™‚
    @

    • Thanks, Nancy. ๐Ÿ™‚ I know you’re right. I think once I *get* there and can start working on making those travel, work and play opportunities actually become a reality that I will feel less antsy. There is no doubt that we will definitely have a more well-rounded quality of life than we have had here!

Leave a Reply

