Rules of the Road

Technically, traffic rules and patterns here are pretty similar to those in the states. Everyone drives on the right side of the road, you can make a right on red in most places. Red means stop and green means go. Pretty simple, right?

Well, not exactly. We’ve seen some interesting vehicles and means of transportation around here. When you take into account the sky high price of gasoline in this country, I’d probably be hooking Sadie up to a cart and teaching her to mush myself if the base gas station didn’t have U.S. prices. Still, it will take awhile for me to not feel surprised when I see sights like this:

Family of four on a small motor bike. Seeing those sleeping kids almost makes me wish that I had offered to trade them our family-sized Sasquatch for the motorcycle. J, you’d be ok with that, right, Babe? I mean, I know it’s not a Harley and all, but it would get us where we need to go. (We’d just need to buy a sidecar for groceries–or Sadie.)

Motorcycles aren’t the only vehicles that often overflow with cargo.

For example:

Or, better yet, this:

(I think it’s carrying potatoes…)

We’ve also seen horse drawn carts on highways, numerous bicycle contraptions, and farm tractors liberally mixed in with the zippy Volkswagons and dolmus vans.

Speaking of those farm tractors and carts, though, many of them are often on their way to markets, and it’s hard to drive far without seeing wagons full of melons, peaches or tomatoes for sale on the side of the road.

Speaking of markets, here’s what we took home from the canal market this past Sunday.

This is easily a week’s worth of produce, and since it’s so fresh it will likely last quite well in the fridge for some time. All of this cost us just about 17 lira which is about $11 or $12, give or take. So, hey, I’m ok with sharing the roads with those overloaded potato trucks. πŸ™‚

And, finally, just for fun, I must ask if you have ever seen cabbages like these.

No? I didn’t think so. πŸ™‚

In my next post I promise that I’ll reign in my enthusiasm over produce. We’re going another coastal town this weekend, so hopefully we’ll have plenty of stories of turquoise waters and castles to share soon!

Have a beautiful weekend!

One thought on “Rules of the Road

  1. It’s “grape” (minus the snails-LOL) hearing about your produce shopping adventures. I look forward to hearing about your coastal excursion…enjoy.

Leave a Reply

