Watermelon carnage…

…looks a bit violent, doesn’t it? Well, I don’t think I’d be exaggerating by saying that this is probably one of the very best watermelons I’ve ever had. The skin is so thin that even the dull steak knife that we had to use to crack it open slid right through the rind. (By the way, I cannot wait until our stuff arrives! The itty-bitty paring knife and the steak knives included in our loaner kitchen items are just not…excuse the upcoming terrible pun…cutting it anymore!)

For anyone who might we wondering, yes, my life does pretty much revolve around fruit for the time being. šŸ™‚ I’m in the process of waiting for my references to clear to teach some dance classes at the youth center. I have to admit that, considering the horrible dearth of teachers and classes offered on base (for kids and adults), I’m a little surprised that people aren’t just a bit more eager to help me push ahead and get the ball rolling. Whenever I talk to the community center, they sound quite interested in having me offer classes, and yet, somehow, the true supervisor, with whom I’d need to discuss details, is never around. Similarly, the youth center sounds desperate for someone to fill the gap that will soon be left by the current dance teacher, but I have the feeling that I will need to remind them a few more times before I actually receive the employment forms they’ve promised me.

Big sigh… So, in the meantime, watermelons are quite entertaining. So are poodles. (Oh, and for those of you who know Sadie well, she seems to be making a breakthrough–fingers crossed–with evening walks. Two nights in a row, now, J and I have been able to take her on a decent after-dinner walk through the neighborhoods here. All the attention she gets from children helps, I’m sure…and so does chicken!)

Adieu for now!

2 thoughts on “Watermelon carnage…

  1. Mimi,

    What a fantastic idea to blog! I really enjoyed your entries and feel that I can imagine you in your new home already. Looks great!

    I am just back from a fantastic three weeks in France and Italy. I’m sure you will be doing lots of European explorations while you are there.

    I loved seeing the photos of Sadie. Glad she survived the trip and hope she continues to adjust well. My sad news is that Charlie died just before I went on holiday. I am so thankful that I was with him. I miss him terribly–you can relate.

    Have fun! Cate

    • Cate,

      I’m so, so sorry to hear about Charlie, but I’m also glad that you got to be with him. He was definitely quite the lucky dog and he had an amazingly long, healthy and life full of love.

      Where did you go in France? Any recommendations of places or things we should see if we make it there?

      Alas, Sadie’s still wearing the cone. It’s been quite the fiasco with the temporary vet here. Molehills to mountains. Can we say Yabadabadooo!

      Great to hear from you!
      šŸ™‚ Mimi

Leave a Reply

