less stuff…

We sold the couch! A *very* excited young woman and her boyfriend will be coming to pick it up on Sunday. She was so excited about it, in fact, that she offered to pay $100 more than we were asking for it, thereby outbidding another couple. Quite thrilling, actually! Craigslist can be a beautiful thing.

Just a few moments ago I was glancing at my calendar full of scrawled rehearsals, gigs, appointments, make-up lessons, doctors appointments (did you know you need a typhoid vaccine to go to Turkey???)–all jammed into my last week-and-a-half of full-time work. I had brief moment of panic and then, suddenly, a pang of sadness. Very soon, I will have much less stuff to do. I’m not sure how I feel about that… I  have always been the kind of person who looks ahead, and lately I’ve been noticing that such an attitude does not always serve me well. My wedding went by like the blink of an eye, and so did our awesome little mini-honeymoon to Charleston, SC. (Perhaps blogging/journaling will help with this as well.) In any case, I find that I’m particularly likely to put my blinders on and march through my responsibilities and tasks during weeks like these when I have one thing after another.

This time, though, my goal is to enjoy and savor each event and activity (except the doctors appointments, of course!). I will probably not have too many gigs while in Turkey, and it will certainly take me a while to build up a student base there–if I can even do such a thing at all… So, tonight I will sweat and laugh with my teen/adult Irish dancers and with my Cape Breton ladies. I will not think about how I won’t eat dinner till 9pm or about how hungry and tired I’ll be after a 12 hour day. This is what I love to do, and I will be present, physically *and* mentally, for all of it!

 

We were followed by two dolphins on our boat ride through the barrier islands around Charleston!

 

Leave a Reply

